Artistic approach

From their conception to completion, René Bégin’s artworks are done with a clear intention. Bégin’s art evokes emotion and energy that takes on a life of their own.He celebrates everyday scenes and captures universal emotions found in sporting and urban life. René’s work taps into a unique frame of cultural and social reflection that is uniquely Canadian. After several years of experimentation and stylistic research, Bégin has landed on a unusual pictorial technique. The Montreal native uses hockey tape on wood-panelling as the foundation of his true northern artwork. Some of his creations are exclusively made using the sporting tape and he often layers paint into the colour blocking. The treatment provides an urgency that enhances his sports artwork and add an energy to
his urban work.

The juxtaposition of the clean angular lines of tape with the bold uneven stroke of the brush, Bégin creates colourful art pieces that are vital. 
His artwork often celebrates historical sports figures, while occasionally putting the crowd in the foreground sharing the spotlight. Although he starts with a structure and framework, the accidents of mark making are where the magic comes from. The vague gestures at first glance may appear confusing, but when you step back the marks come into focus in a way that is relevant and unexpected.

Some of René works are designed simply in tape, others only using acrylic paint, while the mix of both techniques work to great effect. Never one to use the same recipe, he always tries to follow a different trajectory for each of his works. Bégin’s graphic designer background is evident in the visual tension and dramatic compositions he employs. Bégin defines his artwork as contemporary figurative; a style that flirts with vintage
and pop-art. 

BIO

From the age of 3, René draws everything that surrounds him. he participates in all drawing contests at elementary and high school. After a University degree in Graphic Design and a career of more than 20 years in advertising and graphic arts, he decided to paint attending a class in acrylic painting in 2010. He began by painting large formats in a figurative style of scenes and sports portraits, landscapes, characters and scenes from everyday life. In the meantime, He created a new and unusual pictorial technique with vinyl sport tape on wood panel. After several years of experimentation and stylistic research, he presented a first solo exhibition in Candiac in autumn 2014 becoming a professional artist at the same time. Since then, he has participated in several collective exhibitions and symposiums throughout Quebec, as well as exhibiting in galleries in Montreal. Three of my paintings are selected twice for the shooting of the television series Patrice Michaud 24/7 at Super Écran for the seasons 2014 and 2015 and two others are included in the show Silence on joue at SRC for the seasons 2016 and 2017. In the same way, his work in Tape Art is the subject of many television reports on Radio-Canada (Infoman 2018, Quelle histoire 2015), V-TV (News 2017), TVA (Fanatik news 2015) as well as a report in web newspaper La Presse + in April 2016.

 

Technique

  • Acrylic and sport tape.
 

Formation

  • Acrylic paint with Céline Girard, Delson, 2010
  • Degree Advertising, U Mtl, 1990
  • BAC Graphic Design, UQAM, 1989
 

Solos exhibitions

  • Tape art and Sport, Exhibition (hockey theme), Pee-Wee International Tournament, Quebec city, Qc 2016
  • Cerberus, Conceptual Exhibition (thematic vintage hockey goalies), Maison Mélançon, Candiac 2014-2015
 

Collective exhibitions and symposia

  • Symposium Fondation Hélène-Sentenne, Candiac2018
  • Exposition Infoman, Galerie du Viaduc, Mtl2018
  • Armori Steele Exhibition, Patrick Mikhail Gallery, Montreal, Qc2017
  • Exhibition Hist-Art, Candiac, Qc 2017
  • Hélène-Sentenne Foundation Symposium, Candiac, Qc 2017
  • The AAPARS Spring Exhibition, Brossard, Qc 2017
  • Hélène-Sentenne Foundation Symposium, Candiac, Qc 2016
  • Symposium Festival of Arts, Port-Daniel, Qc 2015
  • Exhibition Plaisir d’Artiste, Montreal, Qc 2015
  • Hélène-Sentenne Foundation Symposium, Candiac, Qc 2015
  • Salon des Arts Symposium, Ste-Julie, Qc 2015
  • Expo AVR, St-Constant, Qc 2015
  • Symposium Festival of Arts, Port-Daniel, Qc 2014
  • Maison Mélançon, Candiac, Qc 2013
  • St-Laurent Cultural Center, La Prairie, Qc 2011 to 2013
 

Gallerie

  • Patrick Mikhail, Mtl, Qc 2017
  • ImpresArts, Mtl, Qc 2015
 

Distinctions

  • Mention, Expo AVR, St-Constant, Qc 2015
  • 3rd prize, Maison Mélançon, Candiac, Qc 2013
 

Publications

  • Hist-Art book, artwork published in collection for 60th year city of Candiac 2017
  • La Presse +digital newspaper, report section A guy, a passion
                 "The history of sport in hockey tape", section Pause, Sunday, April 3th 2016
  • Le Refletnewspaper, editorial report "He shoots and paints" 2014
  • Lambert Express digital newspaper, editorial illustrations 2014
  • Sportif Magazine, editorial illustrations 1993-1994
 

Broadcast

 

Others occupations

  • Graphic Designer, ad consultant and illustrator 1990 to 2019
  • Visual arts teacher
    School Board of the Grand Seigneuries (sec 1-3)2009 to 2011

Démarche artistique

Faire vivre une histoire à travers ses œuvres, là est l'intention de
René Bégin dès le départ. Raconter des moments forts, des émotions communes comme des scènes au quotidien, ses œuvres font autant la lumière sur des moments d’histoires sportives et urbaines que sur des trames simples de la vie culturelle et sociale. Après plusieurs années d’expérimentation et de recherche stylistique, il a mis au point une nouvelle technique picturale inusitée avec du ruban adhésif de hockey sur panneau de bois qui s’avère propice à la scène sportive mais aussi à tout autre contexte.

En jumelant la ligne franche et claire du ruban avec le trait furtif et inégal du pinceau, il réalise des toiles vives et colorées et obtiens un rendu tout à fait inusité. Il a beau partir d’un cadre anticipé, les accidents de parcours sont légion laissant le champ libre aux gestes imprécis et l’entraînant sur des avenues à première vue déroutantes mais souvent pertinentes et inattendues. Certaines œuvres sont conçues juste en ruban, d’autres uniquement en acrylique alors que le reste résulte d’un mix des deux techniques. Il essaie toujours de suivre une trajectoire différente pour chacune de ses œuvres. Il fuit autant que possible la recette facile…

Il définierais son style comme un genre figuratif contemporain qui flirte avec le pop-art et l'art vintage. Il s'inspire beaucoup de l'histoire contemporaine des années '50 à aujourd'hui. Il aime cerner l’humain
et il n’est pas rare qu'il mette des foules en scène.

BIO

Dès l’âge de 3 ans, il dessine tout ce qui l’entoure. Il participe à tous les concours de dessin
à l’école primaire et secondaire. Après une formation universitaire en design graphique et une carrière de plus de 20 années en publicité et design graphique, il décide de peindre et poursuit une formation en peinture acrylique en 2010. il débute alors en peignant des grands formats au style figuratif des scènes et portraits sportifs, paysages, personnages et scènes de la vie quotidienne. Entretemps, il développe une nouvelle technique picturale inusitée avec du ruban adhésif sport en vinyle sur panneau de bois. Après plusieurs années d’expérimentation et de recherche stylistique, il donne lieu à une première expo solo à Candiac à l’automne 2014 et accède au même moment au statut d’artiste professionnel. Depuis quelques années déjà, il participe à plusieurs expos collectives et symposiums à travers le Québec en plus d’exposer en galerie à Montréal. Trois de ses toiles sont sélectionnées à deux reprises pour le tournage de la télésérie Patrice Michaud 24/7 à Super Écran pour les saisons 2014 et 2015 et deux autres sont intégrées au décor de l’émission Silence on joue à SRC pour les saisons 2016 et 2017. Par le fait même, son travail en Tape Art fait l’objet de plusieurs reportages télé à Radio-Canada (Infoman 2018, Quelle histoire 2015), V-Télé (Nouvelles 2017) et TVA (Le Fanatik et nouvelles 2015) ainsi qu’un reportage dans La Presse+ en avril 2016.

 

Médium

  • Acrylique et ruban adhésif sport
 

Formation

  • Peinture acrylique avec Céline Girard, Delson, 2010
  • Certificat Publicité, U Mtl, 1990
  • BAC Design graphique, UQAM, 1989
 

Expositions solos

  • Tape art et sport, Expo toiles tape et autres (thématique hockey), Tournoi international Pee-Wee, Québec 2016
  • Cerbères, Expo conceptuelle (thématique gardiens de but hockey), Maison Mélançon, Candiac 2014-2015
 

Expositions collectives et symposiums

  • Exposition Infoman, Galerie du Viaduc, Montréal2018
  • Exposition Armori Steele, Galerie Patrick Mikhail, Montréal2017
  • Exposition Hist-Art, Candiac 2017
  • Symposium Fondation Hélène-Sentenne, Candiac 2017
  • L’Exposition Printanière AAPARS, Brossard 2017
  • Symposium Fondation Hélène-Sentenne, Candiac 2016
  • Symposium Festival des Arts, Port-Daniel 2015
  • Expo Plaisir d’Artiste, Montréal 2015
  • Symposium Fondation Hélène-Sentenne, Candiac 2015
  • Symposium Salon des Arts, Ste-Julie 2015
  • Expo AVR, St-Constant 2015
  • Symposium Festival des Arts, Port-Daniel 2014
  • Maison Mélançon, Candiac 2013
  • Centre Culturel St-Laurent, La Prairie 2011 à 2013
 

Galerie

  • Galerie du Viaduc, Mtl2018
  • Patrick Mikhail, Mtl 2017
  • ImpresArts, Mtl 2015
 

Distinctions

  • Mention, Expo AVR, St-Constant 2015
  • 3e prix, Maison Mélançon, Candiac 2013
 

Publications

  • Livre Hist-Art, œuvre parue dans recueil pour expo 60e ville de Candiac 2017
  • Journal La Presse +, reportage rubrique
                 Un gars, une passion « L’histoire du sport en ruban gommé », section Pause, dimanche 3 avril 2016
  • Journal Le Reflet, reportage éditorial « Il lance et peint » 2014
  • Journal Lambert Express, illustrations éditoriales 2014
  • Magazine Le Sportif, illustrations éditoriales 1993-1994
 

Diffusion

 

Autres occupations professionnelles

  • Designer graphique et concepteur publicitaire 1990 à 2019
  • Enseignant en art visuel
    Commission Scolaire des Grandes Seigneuries (sec. 1-3)2009 à 2011